In which I reveal that I can’t count to 30

Arrrrgh, Constant Reader.  I blithely knit up the seed stitch swatches for seaming.  I seamed them.  Twice.  Each time, I was a row off at the end.  I finally sat back and recounted the rows, and the little buggers Did.  Not.  Match.  Back, as they say, to the drawing board (or rather the knitting needles).  Not to be made a fool of twice, I unraveled the “good” swatch (the one with the appropriate number of rows) and cast on both swatches at once.  This way I can be assured, like 2 socks at the same time, that they will have the exact same number of rows.  There.

While I am trying to have a focus on the Master Knitting program, I am of course distracted by (shiny objects, a screaming toddler, and) knitting magazines.  Full of lovely projects clamoring to be cast on now, they pile up on my desk and poke at me from my peripheral vision.  I gave in and read through Knitting Traditions, which is actually a special issue of Piecework. Just out is the second annual special issue, which highlights historical knitting.  There are 45 projects in this issue, and they lean heavily to colorwork.  Lots of gloves: Norwegian, English, Estonian, Lithuanian, even American (New England).  I’m surprised I didn’t need to show my passport to buy this issue, it’s so darn international.  There are bags, and socks, and lace edgings.  There are historical articles as well, about remarkable knitters.  There are some unique techniques in here: Portuguese knitting, Armenian knitting, shagged mittens (I admit I’m chuckling over the cover pronouncement, “Wooly Bear mittens to Knit and Shag…oh, be-have!).  I’m finding myself inexplicably drawn to a fine lace edging from the 1880’s: what on Earth would I do with it?  Perhaps it can keep company with the shawls I love to knit and never wear.  Perhaps you can help me there, Constant Reader.  I live a rather casually dressed life.  How/when/where should I wear my shawls and scarves?

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, Reviews, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

