The seamier side of knitting

There’s a lot of seaming in Level 2 of the TKGA Masters Hand Knitting Program.  I must admit that I generally add a stockinette selvedge stitch and mattress stitch that bad boy up.  So far I have completed the stockinette mattress stitch swatch (say that three times fast!) and the reverse stockinette seam.

I’m a little nervous about a few stitches that look a little uneven in Swatch #1; I might redo this whole swatch later.  We shall see.

Next up is seaming seed stitch.  As I said above, I’d usually just add a stockinette selvedge stitch and seam next to it.  So this is new, although with these swatches I can still just mattress stitch them – ha!  So here are the little darlings, ready for seaming:

There are questions which must be answered in conjunction with these swatches, and I’m finding the hardest part is documenting things which I know to be true but are so basic that it’s hard to find them actually stated anywhere (We hold these truths to be self-evident!).  You know, along the lines of, “Why is it important to remember to breathe out after breathing in?”  Um, well, you just have to, you know?  So you don’t go ‘splody.

Next up will be 1×1 and 2×2 ribbings.  The trick is to plan the seam before casting on.  The stitch count will need to be adjusted to make the ribbing flow over the seam unbroken.  Wind in my hair!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, TKGA Masters Program. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

