Mystery Knit-a-Long! Mystery! Mystery! (Well, I do know it’s a shawl.)

Tomorrow is the start of Ysolda Teague’s “Follow Your Arrow” mystery shawl knit-a-long. I don’t usually do mystery knit-a-longs as I have such limited knitting time and such a huge Ravelry queue that spending time knitting I-know-not-what doesn’t usually appeal. For some reason, this one does: 5 clues with 2 choices each, leading to 32 different shawl possibilities – and that’s just with one color. There’s a 2-color option, and now Ysolda’s talking about knitting a version with a neutral as color ‘A’ and 7 colors (ROYGBIV) as color ‘B.’ And, did I mention this is Ysolda Teague? I did? I love her designs, so I’m expecting that I’ll like this one too. The entry fee is less than $6 US (£3.50) and there’s a group on Ravelry to join.

After conning convincing my friends to join (some of them by gifting the pattern though Ravelry), the next step was choosing yarn. This task was made slightly less daunting by the requirement for 680 yards of fingering weight yarn in a solid(ish) color, or two colors (360 and 320 yards). Searching my stash still yielded about 8 choices in one color – two colors was out of the question. According to Ravelry, I have 362 fingering weight yarns, so That Way Lies Madness. Friends suggested that I set out the contenders and “see what speaks to me.” This turned out to be fabulous advice, because what spoke to me was yarn that was a gift, that I would never have chosen myself: Malabrigo Sock in Turner.

Turner 1

 

The yarn scans as more solid and looks less yellow, more brown in person…but it hardly matters, since Malabrigo colors vary so much skein-to-skein. After winding these skeins up, it became apparent that they are fraternal twins, not identical. That’s not too bad, though, considering that sometimes two skeins from the “same color” of Malabrigo look more like 4th cousins twice removed. Honest: look at these skeins of Malabrigo Sock in Archangel.

That said, I was worried about their differences (essentially, one skein is a bit lighter than the other). A dear genius of a friend suggested that I follow the 2-color directions with the 2 skeins. It will either look subtly striped or it will look like a single color. I knit a little swatch to check gauge, and I like it.

IMG_0945

 

So now I’m eagerly waiting for tomorrow’s first clue. Join up!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, stash and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

