Follow Your Arrow Mystery KAL Continued: The Curse of Indecision

So, Ysolda Teague’s Follow Your Arrow Mystery Shawl KAL started last Monday. I had chosen my yarn and swatches for gauge, and to make sure I liked the fabric. Clue 1B started with a garter tab, and I’ve never done one, so I started there. I got a lovely start to an almost-circular shawl (I think). Then I checked the Ravelry spoiler thread. Dozens of photos of both clues scrolled by, in 1 and 2 colors (and a few with even more). After initially thinking that I didn’t really like the result of clue 1A, it grew on me.

I came up with an idea, which I hesitate to admit has infected at least a few fellow KAL-ers: I’m knitting a shawl and an “anti-shawl.” Each week, I will choose the clue that most appeals to me, for whatever reason: knitting technique, finished product, whatever. But then I’ll knit the other clue into the other shawl. So I’ll be knitting all the clues and not missing out. And I’ll have 2 shawls. It will be interesting to see which shawl I like more in the end.

So I needed yarn for the second shawl. Since I’d already been through my stash looking for appropriate choices for the first shawl, that wasn’t too hard. I chose Dream in Color Everlasting Sock in “Passion.” It’s purple (duh).

So, spoilers time! If you don’t want to see what Clues 1A and 1B look like, avert your eyes! Do not scroll down! Click away! Okay, you’ve been warned.

Image

Clue 1A: the last step (after this photo) is to pick up stitches along one edge. So the top…isn’t the top.

Image

Clue 1B

I did not pin mine out, and my lighting could be better. If you’d like to see many more examples, some in more than one color, peruse the spoiler thread for the KAL on Ravelry. In the very first message, Ysolda instructs you how to sort for just the photos, none of the chat.

Both clues include stockinette and garter bands. Clue 1A comes out shaped like an arrowhead, and clue 1B has a repeated arrow motif in the lace, which you can only sort of see in my unblocked piece.

Clue 2 comes out tomorrow (today, if you’re in the Eastern Hemisphere, I suppose). I’ll be following all the arrows I can find.

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment