In the Doldrums

Is it the heat?  Is it Twitter?  My knitting output has slowed to the merest trickle, despite available time and at least one deadline looming.  Glancing over at my voluminous stash, I feel guilt and anxiety rather than joy.  How will I ever make a dent in that?  And so, how can I buy any more yarn?  Oh, woe is me.

As I read through the crop of fall knitting magazines, almost nothing jumps out as being a “must-knit,” mostly because after I think, “ooh, nice!” I think, “as if I’ll ever get to it.”  Add to that that I wear a uniform to work; other than socks I have little outlet for wearing fancier knitwear such as scarves and shawls.  I will wear sweaters for warmth in the winter, but I have a good number of them already, plus they are large projects.  Perhaps I need to knit more gifts.  Of course, the socks I am currently stuck in the middle of are a gift, and gifts generally mean deadlines.  This blog presses me to work on my TKGA items, so that I have something to blog about.  But I swear I am hating this mitten!

I plan to attend Rhinebeck Sheep and Wool in October, and perhaps that will help rekindle my love of knitting.  In the meantime, I’ll try to tear myself away from this screen and go knit!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

