Duck, duck…flamingo?

I saw the strangest thing at the zoo this past weekend: a copycat duck.

What is that duck in the center thinking?  “Gee, maybe it would be comfortable to sleep standing on one leg with my neck tucked into my back.  Hey, it is!”  His companion is not impressed.

Or perhaps this is evolution in fast-forward?  But which way does it run?  Do flamingos turn into ducks, or ducks into flamingos?

Or maybe this is a wayward duck who thinks if he acts like a flamingo, the zookeeper will feed him.  When in Rome, and all that.

Can you tell this has bemused me and stuck in my brain?  I don’t think I’ve ever personally seen cross-species copycat behavior like that before.

In other news, I have received some club yarns, one of which is not to my taste.  The yarn itself is nice and contains cashmere.  It feels great.  But the color is not my cup of tea.  I will either trade it, gift it (there’s a traveling yarn box coming my way), or knit something for someone else with it.  Such are the vagaries of yarn clubs.  Sometimes I get colors I would not have chosen for myself but turn out to really like, so it evens out.  The number of club yarns I have not liked is very small.

As far as TKGA knitting, I have finished my second lace swatch before the first – the first pattern turned out to have an error, and I started another before I sorted that out.  So I will go back and knit the first pattern swatch next!  Here’ my second choice, from Barbara G. Walker’s Fourth Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  It’s called “New Wave.”

Now I’m off to sort out how to weave in my yarn end in seed stitch.  Joy.

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, TKGA Masters Program, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment