Of moochers and lace

The Oompa Loompa is a Class A Mooch.  Like most small children, she thinks that what I am eating is infinitely more interesting than what she has on her plate – even if it’s more of the same thing.  It’s Mommy’s, so it must be good.  I realize, however, that this is but one stage in a long Continuum of Mooching.  Here then, is the full spectrum:

Age                                     Mooching Specialty

– 9m – birth Oxygen, nutrients, energy direct from your bloodstream
Birth – ~ 1 year Breast milk
1 – 4 years Whatever you’re having; both halves of the bed.
4 – 10 years Your attention (“Mom, look!”)
11 – 15 years Your time (spent sitting in cars waiting)
16 – 18 years Your car keys and your money

Of course, when I outlined this, the Oompa Loompa promptly announced, “Car keys!”  Sorry kid, you can’t reach the pedals yet.

In other news, I have entered Lace Land in the TKGA Hand Knitting Master Program, Level II, otherwise known as Switches 13 – 15.  In these swatches, you pick your own lace patterns, within the rules that the whole swatch must be no larger than 7 inches square including the border, and include 2 multiples and three repeats of the pattern.  Of course, the first pattern I chose did not appear to be coming out correctly.  At first I thought my translation of chart to text was at fault.   A Google search revealed that, in a book containing over 200 pages of patterns, generally with 2 patterns per page, I had chosen one of 4 patterns with errata.  Typical.  Back to the drawing board, or at least the border.

In other other news, I have Acute Startitis.  I’m resisting, but I don’t know if I can keep it up for long.  I’m on vacation for a week starting Saturday, and what better time to devote to gauge swatches (yes, I do them sometimes), stash-diving, and Ravelry-queue-gazing?  Once they get on the needles they can languish, calling my name and making me feel hounded.  “Get in line!” I’ll shout, “Behind the unread library books, the TKGA swatches, and the actual Work!  But ahead of the housework.”  Do your WIPs dun you for attention?  Is it only me?  Who are those men in white coats coming up the walk, and what is that funny coat they’re carrying?

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in children, knitting, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

