The Great Knitting Magazine Dilemma of 2012

As I’ve mentioned already, I’m moving to a smaller house this summer.

I have a lot of knitting magazines. Like close to 600 knitting magazines. At least 32 different titles, from at least 5 countries (many foreign-language titles have an English translation supplement). I have the full publishing run of some, sporadic issues of others. They go back to 1996 (I have some older magazines, but I’m not counting them. They are part of the ‘vintage knitting’ collection.).

How do I know this so precisely? I keep a spreadsheet listing each issue, along with the patterns and articles I liked in them.

They gather dust, sitting in their library magazine racks, most in the dark of a closet. I seldom knit anything from them. I realized that I don’t use the spreadsheet to choose a pattern to knit. I generally use Ravelry to choose my next project, and if I happen to choose a pattern from a magazine, I can then confirm that I own it already.

It’s time for them to go.

I have already spent about 6 hours paging through magazines (thank goodness I developed the habit of either folding down the page corners or adding a sticky flag when I liked a pattern, or this would take much, much longer. Following the live-Tweeting of Eurovision by my friends across the pond helped tremendously!). I’m probably about a quarter of the way through. I am doing something that used to make me cringe, but I must do in the name of space-saving: I am ripping patterns out of magazines.

Surprisingly, I am finding that most of the patterns I flagged more than a year ago, I no longer love. If a magazine has 3 or more patterns I think I want to keep, I keep the magazine intact. Only one or two: out they come, to be placed in a page protector and filed in a binder. I will overhaul the spreadsheet at the end to reflect what is left. The defiled magazines go in the recycling bin.

Issues that hold no charm for me will be given to a charity bookshop.

It’s quite liberating, getting rid of so much mass. And I only need to spend about another 18 hours on it.  –swoon–

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in moving, stash and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

