Acute Startitis

So in my last post, I was frozen by the endless possibilities of what to knit next. In the meantime, I have cast on three new projects and brought a neglected project back to life. Because of course I must have:

  • A project suitable for knitting while talking with friends and/or watching something which requires most of my attention (subtitles/complex plot/Benedict Cumberbatch)
  • A project suitable for car passenger knitting, i.e. not so simple I get bored stiff but no chart-reading required (which would result in queasiness) or knitting while paying attention to an audiobook
  • A project that has enough going on to need a little attention, but allows me to listen to music or think about something else
  • A project that’s complex enough to be interesting when nothing else is going on, and may include charts, complex concurrent shaping increases and decreases, insane stitch counts, and/or tensor calculus, and is usually, but not always, socks

Having multiple projects on the needles at the same time means that none of them get completed too quickly, but a medium-difficulty project can be promoted if I want to get it finished first (one of which I do, since it’s a gift). Life with children (and the ever-beckoning siren song of Twitter) guarantees that the maximum-difficulty project will be on the needles for a while to come, and indeed that’s my semi-resurrected neglected project.

Maryland Sheep and Wool is coming up in a few weeks, and I’m sure my stash will expand yet again and my queue will be rearranged. Watch this space for the MS&W report!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

