When Disaster Strikes (it’s knitting; it can’t be that bad)

When last you heard from me, Dear Reader, I was happily knitting away on a mystery KAL. It turned out to be a cleverly-constructed shawl, knit from end to end with short rows and finished with a lace edging picked up along one side and knitted at 90 degrees to the body. Mine seemed to be going well, looking at the first and second stages like everyone else’s. When I went to block it, however, mine did not seem to want to assume the correct shape. I attempted to block it quite severely…and heard a “SNAP” and felt something give way…ImageThat’s where the yarn snapped and my lace and bind off row began to unravel. At this point, I decided to cut my losses. I will not be frogging this, either to fix it or to save the yarn for something else. I don’t want to fraternize with this yarn or pattern any longer. Onward!

While I am through with this, I have tried to learn something from it. I don’t think this was just the case of a too-tight bind off, but that may have been a factor. The instructions did not stress a very loose bind off, and in fact described exactly how to bind off. Perhaps I made some kind of error in shaping the body, but many people in this KAL posted photos along the way, and mine looked the same as theirs.

One of the vagaries of a mystery project is that you don’t know what you’re knitting when you choose the yarn. Had I known this was a shawl with a lace border containing a leaf motif, I doubt I would have chosen this color. The color choice is part of why I have little interest in salvaging the project. Yes, I spent three weeks working on this, but salvaging it would involve spending more time on it, and I’d rather knit something else.

One of the lessons I have learned about my knitting: This is my hobby. I do it for fun. If a project is causing me more stress than enjoyment, I can, without regret, abandon it and move on to something which will bring me pleasure, relaxation, or an item I really want to wear or give away.

That said, I realize I have taken a large hiatus from the TKGA Master Hand Knitting Program, Level II. I’m at the point where I have to do the larger projects, and I’m finding it difficult to get motivated, with a large Ravelry queue beckoning to projects that seem more fun. I’ll get back there some day in the not-too-distant future, and luckily there are no deadlines in the program.

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

