Whatever holiday it is, I got yarn, and that’s what counts.

Happy post-Christmas let-down! We’re in that limbo between Christmas and New Year’s where many of us have children to entertain for a solid week. I fear that a visit to Chuck-E-Cheese is in my near future. To take my mind off that, I can fondle my new yarn. I participated this year in Indigodragonfly‘s Giftapalooza, and I can tell you that my spell checker is as unhappy about that as I am happy about the yarn! What’s a Giftapalooza? As far as I know, Kim McBrien dreamt this up in her own fevered brain: you choose one of three levels of giftiness (and expense). Someone else gets the package you paid for, which includes exclusive yarn (very limited dye runs) and goodies (depending on the level). You send Kim something by email to include in the package from you: photos, a poem, a recipe, a drawing by your kid, or anything else that can be printed out. You get a package of the same level with a personal touch. How fun! I sent someone a recipe and an invitation to enter the fandom of my favorite TV show (well, I suggested she give the show a look and come on over to join the ravening horde of fans on Ravelry once she’s hooked, mwah ha ha ha!). I got some photos of really cute dogs. Plus it’s an opportunity to check out someone’s projects and yarns on Ravelry (I assume most if not all of the participants are Ravelry users) and say hi.  So, what did I get?

MCS sock (merino/cashmere/silk), baby. And a pattern for some kickass mitts. And those puppy pictures I mentioned, a tape measure (never can have too many of those!) and a cute little notions pouch by Splityarn. It was definitely fun, and I’d do it again! Thanks, Kim!

This post has been brought to you by the Letters “I” and “G” and parentheses.

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

