Darn it! There’s a hole in my hand knit sock!!

The temperature has dropped around here, and I pulled out my hand knit socks last week. I was wandering around the house today, when I became aware of a strange sensation: linoleum meeting my foot. I was quite surprised to see this:

This is one of a beloved pair of Simplicity socks by Janel Laidman.  The yarn is Dream in Color’s Smooshy in Cloud Jungle. Aren’t they pretty?

After uttering some interjections, none of which were “darn,” I decided that I really like these socks, and I need to save them. And so, dear friends, I must darn it.
Darn it all to heck!

First step: find the yarn. Yes, it’s on the sole of the foot, but I know I have the yarn (probably enough to knit another pair, frankly), and I don’t think that this was a particularly weak spot that needs nylon reinforcement. It was fine this morning, and I don’t wear holes in my socks as a rule, so I think I must have snagged it on something without noticing. Anyway, I pulled out my trusty box of “Sock Yarn Odds and Ends”:

Unfortunately, the yarn wasn’t in there, and I had to continue hunting. It turned up eventually, surprisingly in a bin labelled “Dream in Color,” amongst other things. My yarn needle, at least, was where I thought it would be, and I was therefore ready for Adventures in Darning. (Sounds exciting, doesn’t it? Think Showtime would want to make a series?)

So I started in the “good part” of the sock near the hole, then made a suspension bridge across the gap. Sorry the picture is so blurry, but evidently I need to take a course in Remedial Knitting Photography.


Then I made a daring 90 degree turn, and wove (weaving? I thought this was knitting!) the other way. It looks a bit like the dog’s dinner, but there’s no hole anymore.

Supposedly, walking on it will help everything felt together and flatten out. Time, my friends, will tell. In the meantime, I’m considering these socks back in play, darn it.

I’m heading for Rhinebeck, NY for the Sheep and Wool Festival on Wednesday. I count I will get to my next TKGA Masterclass book review before then, so I’ll likely next post about the joys of Rhinebeck. I am playing Rhinebeck Bingo, and I’m a square as well (no jokes!), so if you’re playing Bingo, I’m stalking you, and you’re stalking me. Fair’s fair.  On Saturday, I plan to wear my Sheep-go-Round sweater, so catch me if you can!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

