Knitter’s Block

The knitting slump has continued, and I blame the computer. It’s too interesting. So, I have taken the bull by the horns and started a couple new projects. The ostrich feather lace kerchief is a design by Dawn Prickett which uses only 100 yards of cobweb-weight yarn. The pattern came with (hopefully) sufficient yarn in a Phat Fiber box. For those who just said, “A what??”: Phat Fiber boxes are offered monthly and contain samples, patterns, coupons, and sometimes stitch markers or other little treats. They are meant to showcase independent fiber artists so that you will learn about their products and buy from them. The quantity of boxes is limited, and they are sold at two different times on a single day each month. Check out the site for details. Anyway, this kerchief was a free design, with free yarn, and isn’t that nice! It’s a bit fiddly, because it’s cobweb after all. It proceeds apace.

I decided that the perfect slump-busting project would be one that wasn’t too large, like a sweater or afghan, but was interesting, perhaps a little difficult. After much Ravelry-gazing, I finally settled on the project that has been #1 in my queue all along: the Through the Woods shawlette by Sarah Wilson, aka The Sexy Knitter. Although this was a WoolGirl club pattern, it has been long enough now that the pattern is available for purchase. Although I have the specified yarn from the club kit (Knitted Wit Superwash Merino Fingering in “Two Roads”), I already have a shawl in a similar brown.

After still more Ravelry-gazing, I decided upon some lovely Malabrigo Sock in Cordovan, which has been aging gracefully in my stash for quite some time. I cast on last night, and hopefully I will finish this post and manage to tear myself away to go work on this lovely shawl! The next chapter in combatting the knitting doldrums will be to figure out how to wear all these lovely shawls. More Ravelry-gazing will ensue, I’m sure.

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

