The Mitten of Oppression

TKGA Level 2: Fair Isle Mitten.  Such annoying words.  I have now knit this mitten twice, and I still don’t really like it.  I’m trying to convince myself to submit this mitten, but I’m not too sure it will pass muster:   

 

 

I think it’s still too uneven in the fair isle portion.  I’m not looking forward to Attempt #3.

In other news, I got not one, not two, but three sock club packages in the mail today! Adorn Sock in Pick of the Knitter from Three Irish Girls, Grace Kelly from Yarn Love (I think this is a new base – it’s 100% super wash BFL), and some unnamed loveliness (merino/bamboo/nylon) from SpaceCadet Creations.  As these are brand new club color ways, I’ll keep the photos to myself (and Ravelry) for now, but I am totally smitten with the Yarn Love color way.  “Silvered Waves” goes from a warm beige, through sea free and muted turquoise to a lovely blue.  I’m trying to reconcile my stashing-fu with the fact that, when I went to choose a new project the other night, I shied away from socks.  I’m knitting a little lace kerchief and revisiting a Kaffe Fassett pullover I started ages ago, in Regia Hand-dye Effect (okay, so that’s sock yarn).  Perhaps, after the Never-ending Socks of Birthday Giftness, I just need a slight break from socks.  Otherwise, I’m going to wind up with a large number of shawls that I will never wear!

I think I have the opposite of “startitis.”  As I contemplate the sea of patterns from which to choose, I find myself thinking how complicated it is to get started.  I need to gather all the supplies, check gauge (yes, sometimes I actually do!), and read through the pattern for pitfalls (“at the same time, start decreasing for neck“).  I find myself unable to focus enough to get started.  I find myself unable to choose a project, as many look interesting, but no one jumps out, screaming, “knit me first!”  I feel overloaded with choice.  What’s a knitter to do?  Perhaps Rhinebeck will pull me out of my slump.

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, shopping, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

