Having kittens about mittens

Perhaps you have guessed that I’m not 100% thrilled with my colorwork mitten for the TKGA Level II Hand Knitting Program.   I am not a huge fan of stranded knitting, although I certainly have been moved to endure it in the past, for the right project.  I knit this:

Sleepy Monkey Blanket by Mary Ann Stephens

And this:

Leaf Cardigan with Velvet Trim by Solveig Hisdal

So it’s not all screaming, but this mitten is annoying.  It’s in the round, of course, and it’s a child’s size, so it’s small and fiddly.  I’m finding that perhaps working at least the colorwork part on dpns might make sense, as color changes that span the switch between the two circulars are hard to get the right length.  I currently have a slightly loose stitch that I am hoping will block out (or ride up with wear, perhaps – thank you, Mr. Humphries).  If I wind up having to rip back to the beginning of the stranding, I will switch to dpns (sigh).  I’m not 100% certain I have gauge either…the piece is small and it’s hard to tell.  I can find an inch with the right number of stitches…and of course it will be washed and blocked, so perhaps there’s a little leeway there.  It’s certainly in the ballpark, as it were.  Gah!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

