The Wrath of Yarn

I know you’ve been eagerly awaiting my decision about what part of the TKGA Level II Program to tackle next (all 3 of you).  The answer is…the mitten!  I actually have 4 colors of Plymouth Galway, the yarn specified in the pattern, although substitution is permissible as long as gauge is obtained.  These 4 colors might even look okay together in a mitten.  I don’t really care, though since I will knit only one, and no one will wear it. While I say I will knit only one, that doesn’t mean I will knit the mitten only once.  I have already knit the entire cuff twice (all 13 rows of it).  Here’s the story:

Yesterday, I was in A Mood.  I had No Patience.  I was snapping at the children and cursing a blue streak at everything in my head (mostly).  I managed to gather the materials for this mitten, including two sizes of needles^, the smaller set being for the ribbing, of course.  I got to the end of the ribbing, and the next instruction begins, “On larger needles…”  So I picked up my as-yet-unused needles – which were the smaller size.  Khaaaaaaaaaan!”

I couldn’t stand to rip it out.  I cut the yarn, threw out the too-large cuff, and cast on anew – on the smaller needles.  I seem to have arrived safely enough at the thumb gusset by now, but I’m annoyed at their choice of increases (M1L and M1R by using backwards loops in different directions).

Yes, that's a Lucy van Pelt stitch marker.

^The pattern specifies dpns.  I am using, as you can see in the photo, two circular needles.  Unless they can tag me on the lack of ladders, I defy them to know how I knit it.  Phthththth!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

