Pick up artist

Okay, this is so not about dating.  TKGA Level II, Swatch #23 is “picking up stitches.”  Amazingly, I learned something new right away.  I have always picked up stitches along a bind-off one stitch in each bound-off stitch.  WRONG!  (Shades of Sherlock)  This results in the new stitches being offset 1/2 stitch from the body of the piece.  The correct placement is in the middle of the last stitch under the bind-off.  Huh.  The next trick is figuring out the correct pick-up ratio up a curve and vertical selvedge (like an armhole or a neckline).  Some people teach that 2 stitches to 3 rows always works, but they’re oversimplifying things.  Measuring my swatch stitch and row gauge gave me a ratio close to 3 stitches to 4 rows, so that’s what I did.  And it worked!

Voila!

No flare, all square.  Perhaps the next time I need to do this, I won’t wind up creating a cloud of obscenity that will float forever over Lake Michigan.

Next (last!) swatch is an inset pocket.  This holds no fear, friends.

After that, I will need to choose what to tackle(pounce) next: reports or projects?  Still to come: a report on the history of knitting, 4 book reviews, a Fair Isle mitten (only one required!), and argyle sock (again only one, and with the back seam left open), and a vest. Miles to go before I sleep.

If anyone cares – sorry for the longer and longer time between posts.  School’s out, and the Oompa-Loompa turned 2.  Things be busy.  Knitting suffers.  Since this is a knitting blog, no knitting = nothing much to say.  I have managed to cast on socks for my mom, but I’m literally about 4 rounds past the toe-up cast-on (2-at-a-time), so I have no opinions about the pattern yet!  More as I actually get into the pattern.

 

 

 

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

