Cable insanity

Well, I discovered (the hard way, of course) what the TKGA Masters of the Universe were angling at when they required that the cable swatches be no larger than 7 x 10″ but include at least 2 multiples and 3 repeats of the pattern.  They want Simple Cables.  Not Cable Extravaganzas of Beauty.  My first attempt was destined to be to large, because I chose something interesting.  Back to the drawing board…they also caution not to use the same cables you used in Level 1.  I did that in about 1998!  I have no idea what cables I used then, and no, I don’t know where my binder went either.  I’ve moved 3 times since then.

In other news, another really awesome, multiple-choice format pattern book!  WWMDfK?, or What Would Madame Defarge Knit?: Creations inspired by Classic Characters, edited by Heather Ordover, is now available from Cooperative Press.  You can get just the PDF (which you can also store in your Ravelry library), print, both, e-reader edition, or a limited edition signed hardcover.  Designers include Brenda Dayne, Shannon Okey, Hunter Hammersen, and many others.  There are socks, shawls, hats, blankets, and more.  Characters who inspire patterns include Frankenstein, Cthulhu, Tristan and Isolde, Moby Dick…it’s all over the map!  The pattern difficulty scale is rather amusing. I won’t give it away, but it involves a guillotine.  The most notable thing though is that there are no pattern photos.  Yes, go back and read that again.  This book is meant to be interactive with the Internet; in order to keep production costs down, they have omitted photos; you are left to troll Ravelry and other sites for pictures of the patterns knit up.  I’ve never run into that before!  There are some drawings, but they are not meant to be exact pattern depictions.  There are also links on the book’s website to recipes to complement the patterns.  This looks like fun!

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in Reviews, shopping, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

