Making mistakes at the speed of sound

I’m a pretty fast knitter.  I’ve never clocked myself, but I don’t think I’d be too embarrassed in a speed knitting contest (although I doubt I come anywhere near Miriam Tegels or Hazel Tindall).  Today it seems that this just means that I make mistakes faster!  Well, as I was taught in the first grade, “There’s never time to do it right, but there’s always time to do it over.”

I’m on Swatch #10 of the TKGA Hand Knitting Master Program, Level II. Decreases, decreases, decreases.  How many ways are there to make stitches go away? In The Principles of Knitting (cue the angelic chorus), June Hemmons Hiatt lists 23 different decreases (some of these decrease more than one stitch).  In Knitting in Plain English, Maggie Righetti (and her plate of spaghetti) says that the easiest thing to do would be just to drop the unwanted stitch, but unfortunately it wouldn’t stay put.  The resulting run would be disconcerting, unless you are knitting a Clapotis, in which case it’s fun!  Anyway, from this list of possibilities, you need to choose what you want: twisted or untwisted, matching, mirrored…then there are the unventions that are either easier or faster to work but look the same, or nearly so.  Or are incredibly fiddly to work, but look better (if you have OCD about your knitting).  Believe it or not, but due to minute differences in the amount of yarn used, it’s really tough to get a true mirror to the old workhorse known as K2tog.  If you don’t believe me, read this Techknitter post, and be amazed.   Reading that post makes me think that the TKGA Masters Panel are a bunch of cream puffs.

 

About The International Knitter of Mystery

If I told you about me, I wouldn't be The International Knitter of MYSTERY, now would I? But I can tell you that "Danger" is my middle name.
This entry was posted in knitting, TKGA Masters Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

